A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?

Often I have stood in front of one of the worlds great paintings in a museum or gallery, full of wonder for what a painter could achieve.with a few tubes of paint.
Awed by the masterpiece before me I still ask myself,-would I want to take it home,-could I live with it on the wall.?
The answer is more often than not no.
If I could take five of the worlds great pictures ,what would they be?

A Monet for sure,one of the water lilies. I am a terrible romantic.

A Vermeer, with or without earrings.

A Whistler nocturne of the Thames.Musn’t forget England.

Yep,one of Edward Hoppers. You are right,the famous one.

And of course because I live in a land of mountains and lakes, a painting by the Swiss artist Ferdinand Hodler. The one of the Lake of Geneva to be specific.
An exhibition of a hundred and fifty of his works opened last week at the Kunstmuseum in Berne and will be showing until the middle of August.If you do happen to be here don’t miss it.

Which famous paintings would you hang on the wall?

Comments on: "Paintings On The Wall" (2)

  1. I would have Bonnard’s ‘The Open Window.’ I also love Edward Hopper. I wonder if the one you are thinking of is the two women in the cafe with the cloche hats on. It’s called ‘Chop Suey.’ There is a great Australian artist called Tim Maguire who does wonderful paintings of flowers and nature – I would have anything by him. I would also love to have Monet’s ‘Rough Weather at Etretat.’ And anything by Margaret Olley, another Aussie artist. For me, it’s hard to narrow it down to just five. There are so many paintings I love. Great post!

  2. It is difficult to chose.I like Hoppers coastal scenes best, there his ability to capture light stuns me.
    Thanks for introducing me to Tim Maguire,wonderful flowers although I feel digital painting is cheating a bit.Funnily enough he was born I see in the small town in England where I went to school for a time.One of my Fathers Irish friends was called Maguire but we moved before 1958 so I don’t know whether he married and had a artist son.
    If you have time,look at my posts “Tea money for the London Cafe” and “The wearing of the green,or maybe just blue” filed in Home Thoughts From Abroad. D

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

