A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?


I still consider myself a novice as far as Blogging goes.
I don’t have a professional looking site, not that I wouldn’t like something more visual or acoustic.Truth is computers aren’t my friends, but I like writing and I have a Blog for the same five motivations that the authors of “I’m Blogging This” state.

My question is ,what makes a successful Blog? Why do some Bloggers get hundreds of hits and comments, and others just don’t.

It doesn’t seem to be a matter of good literary style, or intelligent ingredients,you can research and write for hours and nobody looks at it. I think it’s more a case of what hits the eye.

It also seems to be a matter of what the public want. Food, Love,Sex and Scandal are excellent topics if you are chasing hits.

I got the most hits for a picture of a heart, and a quote on St Valentines Day, and a post about Muffins and Donuts.

But yesterday I managed to make it into the Top Blog of the Day list. Thankyou Word Press.
And what did I write about ; Carla Bruni Sarkozy’s visit to England. Obviously a theme to win readers.

But with Blogging do we want to give free entertainment to the masses.? Or is it more of making a few new friends.

Comments on: "How To Come Out Top In The Blogging World" (6)

  1. This is an almost impossible question to answer. I think each blogger has to identify their own personal goal in blogging. Is it to meet new people? To share ideas? Or to watch their hit counter climb?

    As far as what gets read, the number of posts here climbs so quickly, any post (unless it’s “featured”) disappears from the first page of a tag list in short order.

    If you really want to increase your hits, make sure your title is catchy, make sure you have included all the appropriate tags, and make sure you venture out and leave comments on other people’s posts- quite often they will respond in kind.

  2. I found it’s interesting that some of my best posts received very little traffic, while my most uninteresting posts received hundreds of hits. Like you, I’m still pretty clueless as far as blogging goes. But I’ll stick with what I like to write over what people want to read.

  3. Hello Nancy,
    Thankyou for your advice and looking in.
    Not too sure that I really want to increase my hits,but noticing them going up gives a certain amount of satisfaction,and an I can do it too apeal.

  4. Hello Leafless,
    Nice to see you.Yes it’s amazing what people like to read.I feel too that some of my best posts haven’t been of interest,but then I suppose we are seldom objective about what we write.

    I am also still going to jot down what I want to,the diamonds and the rust, regardless of stats.

  5. I am completely in the dark as to how it all works. I just write what I want to and hope for the best. I have met some brilliant people via blogging however, so that is an unexpected bonus.

    Well done on making the Top Blog list. That is wonderful!

  6. Thanks Selma,I think the interesting people I meet make it worthwhile for me.Two things I have also learned are,don’t post anything before the North Americans are up,and never on a Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

