A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?

If you are thinking of going to Switzerland there are two things you must remember;

1. If you ever come face to face with a Swiss cow, always say hello to it.

2. NEVER marry a peasant.

These profound words were given to me in London, back in the days when the St Moritz Club in the Wardour Street was the venue of all homesick young Swiss. Albeit the members were of the class that could afford to send their offspring to study or play in London,thus the rather derogatory remark about peasants, which at the time I understood as a misinterpretation of the word farmer. Peasants had died out in England with the Black Death.

Brought up to respect animals, I still say hello to creatures that moo, but I didn’t heed the advice about farmers .

As I walked down Wardour Street in Soho last time I was in London I saw that the St Moritz Restaurant still exists, and I thought I could hear the strains of Hazy Osterwalds’ “S’isch ja nu e chlieses Träumli gsi “coming from the cellar.

I will keep you posted as to how I got on.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

