A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?

Having struggled through the Summer trying to paint outside. Never quite getting the depth I wanted in the picture, but realising that the wrong nuance of green could ruin it completely, and at last accepting that artists cannot paint what they actually see. It has all to do with the science of colour and optical illusion.

My trees still didn’t look how I wanted them to. My water was improving a little, but the reflections in it still weren’t a lot like reality. In fact as my painting course finished for the holidays I was completely demoralised.

I took off for Thailand late August and carted my Moleskin, water colours, brushes,pencils and even masking fluid around for over a month without doing anything except make a couple of sketches. I really couldn’t, and didn’t want to paint anymore.

Last week I saw that an Artist Blogger Friend had looked into my posts after quite a long time,probably checking out my progress. Somehow it gave me encouragement and I phoned my art teacher to say I would be joining the Autumn Classes after all.

I went for the first time yesterday. We painted Autumn leaves, and I felt I belonged. The painting didn’t look too bad either.

Comments on: "The Autumn Leaves" (6)

  1. Love this post. Excellent.
    And it just confirms how much we struggle with our muse.
    Can’t wait to see your new works!
    Love,
    S.

  2. Tom Awtry said:

    Consider returning to Thailand, the teak trees have turned colors (Chiang Mai) and they are beautiful this year; I think what I like most about the teak leaves is their size, about the size of a table placemat.

    Take Care,
    Tom

  3. Thankyou Spaz.My problem is I don’t have a lot of patience.

  4. Hi Tom
    Yes I wish I could as definately didn’t spend long enough in the north.

  5. Dear diamondsandrust,

    Thanks for commenting on my blog.

    FYI, I have been watching my daughter do an art project over Half Term. It involved photographing and painting autumn leaves at different times of the day, in different lighting and weather conditions, over a period of a week. The idea was to make a sketchbook recording their changes. We get plenty of natural variations in ambient conditions in Britain. She was also to record what her teacher called “natural disturbances”. I take that to mean wind, rain, insects and birds that came to investigate (or eat!) her outdoor art project.

    I hope to post some more autumn leaves on my blog and flickr account soon, so you can see the way autumn foliage has been developing in England and Wales. So beautiful!

  6. Hello Inel,
    I will be looking forward to it.No Autumn leaves here any more. We are into snow scenes unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

