A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?

Poetry

I love Poetry,but I can’t write it.

I might possibly be able to turn out some third rate crime or love story but lines like;

The sedge has withered from the lake,

and no birds sing.”

Impossible.

I ask myself why I find prose so much easier?

The answer is, maybe one has to be a melancholy sort of person to write something moving,and I am not one of these.
It would be an explanation as to why Ireland has brought forth so many great writers.

Or maybe one has to be nursing a broken heart.

Comments on: "Poetry" (6)

  1. philosophyoflife said:

    Never underestimate your abilities or indeed talents – as one can so clearly see here 🙂

  2. One does not have to be melancholy or nursing a broken heart to write something moving. But it certainly helps.

  3. Hi Jolie,thanks for peeking. Maybe being born under Pisces helps too.

  4. Hello Philosopher.
    I’ll try in future.Thanks for the encouragement.This year Doris Lessing beat me to it, but maybe I still have time.

  5. A daughter said:

    “Der Apfel faellt nicht weit from Stamm.”

    I was once told I had some talent for poetry. I have many, some of them from my Dad, poetry is not one of them.

    Doris Lessing watch out! 🙂

  6. Hi Daughter,
    I think the tree you mention was probable a polished oak that you din’t dare to leave.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

