A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?

I just felt like making a cup of tea but then I remembered I didn’t have anything to dip into it. (Definitely not done in the best circles but delicious and soul satisfying)

My favourite biscuits (Cookies) for dunking are Ginger nuts or Mc Vities Digestive.
Now a recipe has come to mind,which I promised to give someone years back but couldn’t find the exact one. Quick and delicious, so if you have a well filled cupboard run into the kitchen.

It is from a Swiss Cookery book by Betty Bossi. In Swiss Dialect it’s called;

Shoggi Chips

You will need;

100gr Butter

75gr White sugar

75gr Brown sugar

1 Tablespoon of water

1/2Teaspoon of Vanilla Sugar or a couple of drops of essence

1 Egg

175gr Flour

1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder (self raising flour could be used instead)

A sprinkling of Salt

100gr of chopped good Chocolate (the Recipe uses dark)

1/2 cup of chopped Walnuts

Cream Sugar and Butter together till light.

Beat in Egg and Water.

Add sieved Flour,Salt and Baking Powder and mix together.
Add chopped Chocolate and Walnuts .

Mix everything well together.

With a teaspoon make small piles and place them on a greased oven tray 6 centimeters apart.

Bake at 200° for 10 minutes.

Comments on: "Tea and Chocolate Chips" (6)

  1. Ginger nuts dipped in tea? You’re invoking my childhood.

  2. This is definitely not from my childhood, but it sounds delicious. Just the headline blaring out at me from the wordpress front page sounded good enough to make me want to see more, and I’m glad I did.

  3. Hello Anthony
    Childhood? How about bread toasted on a long fork in front of the fire,dripping with butter and jam on a winter evening.

  4. Hi Buck
    Thanks for reading more,and for your opinions.Wow,did it really make the front page?

  5. Now wonder they never tasted anything like the ones you used to make, seems your memory skipped a few items. Thank God you found that recipe and now I won’t have to suffer ever again! Xmas: I am ready! 🙂

  6. Think of your waistline.!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

