A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?

If like me you grow your own tomatoes because the ones in the shops taste of nothing these days, you will at the latest in October have the problem of what to do with all the green ones that won’t ripen any more.
My Mother made chutney out of them,and I do as well.

Chutney is rather like jam,it can be spread on bread in a sandwich, or eaten with cold meat or sausage.Chutney and chips (french fries) is pretty good too.

To be honest I prefer the red tomato kind but the green is very good too.

If you would like to try it, here is my Mums recipe.

What you need is :

1250 gr. of green tomatoes (if possible peeled)

2 large onions

150 ml of vinegar, ( malt if you can get it. I can’t in Switzerland so I use apple with a dash of balsamico)

a handfull of sultanas

175 gr sugar

1 teaspoon of salt

3/4 teasp. of paprika.

pinch of cayenne pepper

pinch of mixed spice

pinch of black pepper.

Slice onions and simmer,just covered by water for 5 minutes. Drain.

Slice and if possible peel tomatoes.

Put them in a pan (not copper,brass,or iron) together with onions.
Cook over moderate heat until thick pulp is obtained.Tomatoes contain lots of water and if not well reduced vinegar will be diluted, loose it’s preserving properties,and finished chutney will not keep well.

Add half the vinegar and spices and simmer again until fairly thick.

Add sugar dissolved in rest of vinegar.

Cook until chutney is fairly thick and no free vinegar remains in pan.

Pour into clean warm glass jars and cover with tops.

Enjoy it.

Comments on: "My Mums Green Tomato Chutney Recipe" (2)

  1. This is insane, why aren’t you writing a cookbook? I made chutney too, only I forgot all about this skill until I saw this post. I do love it, and this looks good, too. Now I’ve got to get my canning stuff out of the closet.

  2. oops. meant to say “I make chutney…”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

