A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?

Taxi Drivers

Why have taxi drivers got such a bad name?

I first heard the warning about them in ’68 when prior to my first visit to the USA I was told whatever I did I wasn’t to trust a New York City taxi driver.

What a young woman was supposed to do when she was spat out of an ocean liner along with a cabin trunk and two suitcases on to Pier 8 (or was it 10) they didn’t say.

All I had with me,beside the luggage was an address in the Bronx,where they might or might not be expecting me. So it was a case of having to trust one of those famous yellow cab drivers.

Despite my 5’8” I do tend to bring out the protective instinct in the opposite sex,and people say I look more than passable, but whatever it was that lovely cab driver drove me up town,wanted to wait while I found out if I was expected and then helped me to carry all the things inside.

I was bowled over for life,there is no one like a NYC cab driver-except perhaps a London one.

I love taxi drivers,and I have experienced a few ‘interesting’ ones in my time.

Before my trip to Asia I was warned again,by guide books especially, but I would like to say that the taxi drivers in Asia did not drive off with my luggage, stuck to the previously arranged price, brought me as far as I could judge directly to where I wanted to go, were extremelyhelpfull and friendly with or without a tip. Whether it was a driver of a bike rikshaw, tuk tuk, songthaews or car, I could trust them all.

Comments on: "Taxi Drivers" (6)

  1. I trust you had a good holiday. Welcome back. As someone who has had many experiences with London cabbies, I must agree with you.

  2. Hi there. Yes I did. Unfortunately didn’t see your advice about writing it all down and now I’m busy trying to sort things and places out. Especially the Temples!

  3. I’m sure it will be interesting.
    By the way, I think there may be a problem with the link on your comments on other blogs.
    Didn’t recognise you earlier on ‘Beyond …’ and the link didn’t work, or bring up your WordPress icon. May be worth taking a look at it.

  4. Thanks Anthony.There is something not quite right with the whole set up,and as I’m better with the quill and ink my computer doctors said they would look into it for me.
    Diru

  5. Diru,
    I did look into Anthony’s comment, I can’t find anything wrong, the link from your blogroll works, and I can link to your blog from your comments too.
    I haven’t made any changes either, so this is a little strange. Maybe Anthony can clarify…..

  6. Added beyond the blog to the blog roll, it wasn’t fully done.
    Have no idea who only have your website showed up on ‘Die weisse Rose’ comment. Checked everything and it seems to be ok. Leave her another comment just to see whether it was a temporary mishap.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

