A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?

I was never a Jamie Oliver fan although I do appreciate what he has done for British cooking and school dinners.

No my favourite is Delia Smith.

I think her three “How to cook books” should be compulsory reading in schools. It might put an end to fast food.

Not wanting to spend the whole day in the kitchen myself I took down my latest addition to my Delia library and found something cheap, quick,nourishing,without meat, and so good I would really like to share it with you. For it was really the best cheese omelette I have ever eaten.

Delia’s Soufflé Omelette with Three Cheeses and Chives and a Sweet and Sour Onion Salad.

3 large eggs

1oz (25g) mature Cheddar finely grated

1oz (25g) Parmesan finely grated

1oz(25g) Gruyère or Emmental finely grated.

1 heaped tablespoon of finely cut chives ,

1/2 oz butter

salt and freshly milled pepper.

For the sour onion salad.

1 large onion cut into 8 wedges through the root.

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 heaped teaspoon of brown sugar.(Muscobado is best)

1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar (I used apple with a shot of red wine)

1 rounded teaspoon of grain mustard

salt and freshly milled black pepper.

You will also need a heavy based frying pan , medium sized, or large if you are doubling the quantity for two people.

First of all make the salad.

Heat oil in a small saucepan,add the onion,turn heat down to low and cook gently for 5 minutes,stirring now and then.

Next add sugar and one tablespoon of water.Stir well then cover with lid and continue cooking gently for 10 minutes.

After that ,add vinegar, mustard, salt and pepper, give it a good stir and turn heat off while you make omelette.

First seperate eggs,

Beat egg yolks with a fork and season well with salt and pepper.

Put frying pan on to low heat to warm through and melt butter. Turn on Grill to highest setting.
While thats happening whisk egg whites with electric mixer or balloon whisk until they form peaks,then using metal spoon quickly fold in egg yolks adding 3/4 of cheese and the chives.

Then when butter is foaming,pile the mixture into frying pan.

Cook for a minute,then loosen omelette from side of pan,it should be golden underneath.

Empty rest of cheese over the top.Put pan under the grill,handle sticking out if there is one and cook for a further minute or until gheese is melted ant top golden.

Serve immdiately with the Onions.

I served potato chunks roasted with olive oil and scattered with Rosemary leaves and sea salt to go with the omelette as my husband has a large appetite, but it wasn’t really necessary. I doubled the quantity given but we could only manage to eat half.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Comments on: "Really good fast food,thanks to Delia Smith." (1)

  1. Hey, I will have to try this one.
    Made my second Waehe today since my return from Switzerland. More dough this time but still slightly overbaked (not black though). Seems now that the oven finally works properly it’s hotter then I thought.
    Was yummy though…. not as good as yours of course.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

