A new life at 67.Can a woman start all over again?

Painting outside

We painted outside again yesterday.No ants this time, no wind. Perfect conditions for painting,except that the sun kept hiding behind clouds which made it difficult for me as a beginner to decide what colours I wanted.

He had chosen an idyllic pond for us to paint. We could chose what view of it we wanted to capture-I of course took the view directly in front of the Nature Friends bench.(I was thinking of the ants last week)

Did I really want to paint that subject? Yes . My first priority not being the artistic value, it all looked quite nice to me. Of course that lovely silver birch tree would have to be forfeited, pity, I had had a little experience in painting them. Instead I took the weeping willows that were hanging into the murky water.

Of course I mucked it all up. Willow trees,-probably not the easiest.Murky water,-where’s the reflection when the sun goes in?

I was feeling rather despondent,but at least had pleasure in my onlookers this time.Two small children on their way home from school. They liked painting they said,and didn’t know you could do it outside. Oh what nice colours,what a pretty picture.
We chatted a bit,didn’t disturb me,the work wasn’t going to be a masterpiece anyway.Felt I had done something to encourage children’s art appreciation at least.

What did I do afterwards; went home and downloaded Monet’s” Pond at Montgeron.” – Pity I didn’t look at it before.

Comments on: "Painting outside" (2)

  1. I’ve always wanted to paint – but I am artistically challenged when it comes to such things. I admire anyone who has even the slightest inkling of what to do with brush and paint. Well done. Keep at it. Practice does improve anything. I would have loved to painted in the afternoon sun. Sounds wonderful.
    WC

  2. Unfortunately it is just “the slightest inkling”.Needs a lot of perseverance.You at least have lots of literary talent.Thankyou for answering.Diru

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

